Pupil Achievements

Testing at Key Stage Two takes place in set weeks during May.
This school year they will take place during May. See the timetable.

A Glossary of Terms.

Key Stage 1 - Primaries 1-4
Key Stage 2 - Primaries 5-7
Key Stage 3 & 4 - Secondary School

Northern Ireland Curriculum - This is what the government says we have to put into practice.

Programmes of Study - This is what teachers have to teach.

Level - A method of comparing your child's ability against local and national standards of achievement. The spread of marks required to achieve each level is wide. It takes, on average, two years to complete each level. At the end of Key stage 1, an average ability child is expected to have gained level 2 and at the end of Key Stage 2 level 4. A child who achieves level five is doing very well. A child who passes GCSE at grade C has achieved level seven.

Level Descriptors - This is what teachers use to decide what level a child is working at.

Teacher Assessment - level given to child by teacher based on work throughout the year.

Assessment Units - activities given at the end of each year to show progress.

National Tests - The name given by the Government to the statutory tests in the Core and Foundation subjects of the National Curriculum, taken by all children in Local Authority schools in England, Wales and Northern Ireland at the end of Key Stage 1 to 3 (ages 7, 11 and 14 in England and Wales). They are sometimes referred to as 'SATs' (Standard Assessment Tasks).

Standard Age Score or Standard Score - This tells you how your child is doing compared with other children born in the same month. The mean (average) score for each age group on an assessment is set at 100 and the standard deviation at 15. For any age group a given numerical value has the same meaning in terms of standing relative to the group. For example, an eight year old and a nine year old, each of whom has a standard age score of 105, have performed equally well in relation to the average for their respective age groups. (See My child compared to other children)

Raw Score - This is simply the total of the marks obtained on that test.

League tables, Ofsted reports and DENI Inspection Reports.

Baseline Assessment - A test designed to establish the attainment level of children when they first enter schools at 5 years and transfer to secondary schools at 11 years. Their performance is regarded as a 'baseline' from which their subsequent performance may be predicted, monitored and any relative improvement or deterioration judged.

Reading Age - This tells you the current developmental level of a child's performance in a particular area of reading. For example, a nine-year-old child with a reading age of nine is performing at the national average level for his or her age. Another child aged nine years, with a reading age of 10, is developmentally 12 months ahead of the average in reading